European Association for Osseointegration announces award winners


The certificate winners
The certificate winners

The European Association for Osseointegration (EAO) has announced the winners of five scientific prizes, along with the names of the five candidates who successfully completed its certification programme.

The winners were presented with their awards and certificates by EAO president Björn Klinge (now past president, succeeded by Alberto Sicilia) at a ceremony held on 1 October, as part of its annual EAO Congress.

More than 2,600 delegates and industry representatives from countries as far afield as Japan and Canada attended the meeting at the Palais des Congrès de Paris in Paris, France between 29 September and 1 October.

This year, 609 scientific abstracts were accepted for presentation at the meeting. Sixty-eight were shortlisted for a series of prestigious scientific awards, and every submission was published in a special supplement of Clinical Oral Implants Research, the EAO’s peer-reviewed journal.


Award winners

The European Prize for Basic Research in Implant Dentistry was awarded to Ralf Kohal (Germany): ‘Evaluation of a new long lasting zirconia-based composite for oral implant fabrication: an experiment in the rat’.

The European Prize for Clinical Research, Surgically Related was awarded to Pietro Felice: ‘Posterior jaws rehabilitated with partial prostheses supported by 4x4mm or by longer implants: a one-year post-loading randomised controlled trial’.

The European Prize for Clinical Research, Prosthetically Oriented was awarded to Charlotte Jensen (Netherlands). ‘Implant-supported mandibular removable partial dentures; patient-based outcome measures in relation to implant position’.

The European Prize for Clinical Research, Peri-implant Biology was awarded to Stefano Pieralli (Germany): ‘Outcomes of zirconia implants in prospective clinical trials: a systematic review and meta-analysis’.

The poster presentation competition winner was Alice Cheng: ‘Osseointegration of additively manufactured 3D Ti-6Al-4V implants with trabecular porosity in cortical and trabecular bone’.

Five candidates were also presented with the EAO’s certificate in implant-based therapy during the ceremony. This is the only Europe-wide standardised assessment of skills and expertise within the field of implant-based therapy. Each candidate had to submit six clinical cases, sit a multiple choice examination and be interviewed about their cases.

This year’s winners were: Dr Edith Groenendijk (Netherlands), Dr José Pinheiro Torres (Portugal), Dr Emmanouil Symeonidis (Greece), Dr Weihua Yang (China), and Dr Sawako Yokoyama (Japan).

Professor Niklaus P Lang, the founding editor of Clinical Oral Implants Research, received a medal and was awarded the status of Honorary Membership of the EAO.

Get the most out of your membership by subscribing to Dentistry CPD
  • Access 600+ hours of verified CPD courses
  • Includes all GDC recommended topics
  • Powerful CPD tracking tools included
Register for webinar
Add to calendar