Oral Health Awards: all systems go

The Oral Health Awards 2017 have landed!

Created for the whole dental team to reward and recognise excellence in dentistry, the Oral Health Awards allow dental professionals and teams to demonstrate their passion for excellent patient care across a range of categories that amply illustrate the rising standards of dentistry in the UK and Ireland as a whole.

Here’s everything you need to know!


The Oral Health Awards 2017 categories open for entry are:

  • Best Hygienist
  • Best Therapist
  • Best Leader of Prevention
  • Best Care of Nervous Patients
  • Best Children’s Care
  • Best Care of Vulnerable Patients
  • Best Community Initiative
  • Best Oral Health Team
  • Best New Patient Campaign.

An overall winner will be presented with the Champion of Prevention award at the ceremony. The recipient of Oral Health’s Champion of Prevention award will be selected from the most outstanding entries received across the board; it is not a category that can be entered.


Entry couldn’t be easier, and what’s more it’s completely free!

Remember, the easier it is for judges to read your entry, the easier it is for them to understand what you have to offer. A clear, easily-read PDF is often the best route, but a well put-together word document with separate images is also a good approach.

By contrast, relying on Powerpoint presentations or embedded video content may make it more difficult to assess your entry.

All entries must be electronic, whether that means sending them using an online file sharing service or on a USB stick.

To share your entry online, please visit our dedicated Wetransfer page. Make sure you clearly label your files before you ‘drop’ your files and fill in your email address.

You can also email your entry or send it via Dropbox to [email protected].

To submit your entry by post, please upload the files to a USB stick and post them to: Oral Health Awards, FMC 1 Hertford House, Farm Close, Shenley, Hertfordshire WD7 9AB.

Please note, entries will not be returned and by registering your details, you automatically opt in to receive relevant marketing correspondence from our awards partners.

For further information, including full category details, visit the dedicated Oral Health Awards website, which can be found at www.oralhealthawards.co.uk.


The Oral Health Awards winners will be announced at an official ceremony, and subsequently in the November/December issue of Oral Health.

The ceremony will take place over the afternoon of 17 November 2017 at the Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington in London.


The Oral Health Awards judges – made up of an independent panel of dental professionals and experts – have the tricky task of shortlisting the entries and selecting the winners.

This year’s judges include: Charlotte Wake, Fiona Sandom, Milad Shadrooh, Phil Ower, Mike Watts, Christina Chatfield, Mervyn Durian, as well as Emily Cameron and Guy Hiscott.

In addition, we are delighted to have the backing of some of the largest companies in the oral health market: GSK, Listerine, Optident, Oral-B, and Philips.

Without their generous support, the Oral Health Awards would still be a pipe dream, so we have much to thank them for.

For more information and to enter, visit www.oralhealthawards.co.uk.

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar