2017’s results – The Dentistry Top 50

Introducing 2017’s list of most influential people in the Dentistry Top 50.

1. Milad Shadrooh – The Singing Dentist
2. Sara Hurley – chief dental officer for NHS England
3. Tony Kilcoyne – elected on the BDA PEC
4. Ian Brack – chief executive and registrar at the GDC
5. Henrik Overgaard-Nielsen – chair of the GDPC at the BDA
6. Jeremy Hunt – health secretary since 2012
7. Liz Kay – associate dean at the Peninsula Dental School
8. Avijit Banerjee – professor of cariology and pioneer of minimally invasive dentistry
9. Nilesh Parmar – MBA, implant dentist and dentistry’s Sebastian Vettel
10. Theresa May – UK Prime Minister at the time of writing
11. Edward Lynch – principle director of biomedical and clinical research at the State University of Nevada
12. Paul Tipton – ex-cricketer for Lancashire and professor and lecturer in restorative dentistry
13. Andrew Dawood – lecturer and involved in research and development of implants
14. John Kois – director and founder of the Kois Center                                                                                                
15. Bill Moyes – GDC chair                                                                                                                                                     
16. Christopher Orr – chairman of the Aesthetic Dentistry Awards judging panel                                            
17. Amit Patel – specialist periodontist and skydiver
18. John Milne – dental adviser for the CQC
19. Andrea Ubhi – award-winning cosmetic dentist
20. Michael Zybutz – lecturer and diplomat of the American Board of Periodontology
21. John Drummond – clinical senior lecturer at the University of Dundee
22. Jimmy Steele – professor at Newcastle Dental School and author of The Steele Report
23. David Houston – chair of the judging panel for the Private Dentistry Awards
24. Raj Rattan – dental director at Dental Protection                                                                                          
25. Zaki Kanaan – former president of the BACD
26. Tif Qureshi – pioneer of the Inman Aligner system
27. Frank Spear – world renowned US lecturer in aesthetic and restorative dentistry
28. Wyman Chan – worldwide keynote speaker on tooth whitening                                                
29. Attiq Rahman – international lecturer on implant and aesthetic dentistry
30. Nairn Wilson – professor of dentistry at King’s College London
31. Bertie Napier – president of the BACD
32. Martin Kelleher – specialist in restorative dentistry and prosthodontics
33. Donald Sloss – vice president of the BACD
34. Judith Husband – non-executive director at the BDA
35. Kevin Lewis – former dental director at Dental Protection and Dentistry consultant editor
36. Chris Barrow – practice management guru and castaway on Channel 4’s The Island
37. David Winkler – past president of the British Academy of Aesthetic Dentistry
38. Eddie Crouch – successfully sued the government over his NHS contract and member of the PEC
39. Arshad Ali – clinical director of the Scottish Centre of Excellence for Dentistry
40. Galip Gürel – renowned lecturer in prosthodontics and aesthetics                                                              
41. Mick Horton – dean of the Faculty of Deneral Dental Practice (UK)
42. Seema Sharma – philanthropist and private practitioner
43. Reena Wadia – periodontist and clinical tutor at Barts and The London
44. Fiona Ellwood – patron of the Society of British Dental Nurses
45. Edwin Scher – professor and editor-in-chief of Implant Dentistry Today
46. Michael Wise – retired lecturer in aesthetic dentistry and author of On the Toss of a Coin
47. Hien Chi Ngo – international lecturer on MID and restorative dentistry
48. Adam Glassford – runs the Yorkshire Sedation Training facility                                                                 
49. Jayesh Patel – president of the Anglo-Asian Odontological group
50. Richard Field – Young Dentist of the Year 2014 (The Dentistry Awards) and lecturer

Lifetime Contribution to Dentistry award 2017

Kevin Lewis

After reaching 35 in this year’s Top 50 poll, you’ve also voted for Kevin Lewis to win this year’s Lifetime Contribution to Dentistry award.

A popular name in the industry and always receiving lots of votes in our Top 50 poll, Kevin’s writing – in particular his long-running column in Dentistry magazine commenting on issues affecting the dental profession – are read by many practitioners.

Kevin qualified from The London Hospital in 1971. During 30 years in general practice he developed special interests in preventive dentistry and practice management. He became involved in the medicolegal field in 1989, joining the board of Dental Protection, and became its dental director in 1998, before announcing his retirement from the role in 2015.

He is a member of the executive committee and council of the Medical Protection Society. Since 2006 he has been a regular columnist and consultant editor for Dentistry magazine, where he has become renowned for his vibrant and witty prose, imparting his considered and well-respected insight into UK dentistry in his own inimitable style.

Get the most out of your membership by subscribing to Dentistry CPD
  • Access 600+ hours of verified CPD courses
  • Includes all GDC recommended topics
  • Powerful CPD tracking tools included
Register for webinar
Add to calendar