All smiles as awards celebrate aesthetic dental excellence

An orthodontist from West Yorkshire has been crowned Aesthetic Dentist of the Year at the dental profession’s most exclusive awards ceremony – the 2014 Aesthetic Dentistry Awards.

Megan Hatfield (pictured), the principal of Wetherby Orthodontics, took the overall title at the prestigious ceremony last week (21 March) after securing a hat-trick of other awards.

The evening ceremony took place at the Landmark Hotel in London and brought together elite restorative and cosmetic dentists from all over the UK.

As well as recognising the superb quality of the clinical work being carried out by UK dentists and technicians, the awards recognised one individual’s overarching contribution to the profession overall.

Chris Orr, the chairman of the awards’ esteemed judging panel was honoured with an Outstanding Contribution to Aesthetic Dentistry Award, recognising the role he has played in educating hundreds of UK clinicians and driving restorative dentistry forwards.

The May issue of Aesthetic Dentistry Today will feature all the reaction to and coverage of an unforgettable celebration of aesthetic dentistry.

Read on for a full list of winners:


Restorative case – single arch

Neil Gerrard with Paul Gerrard

Highly commended: Federico Brunner with Petr Mysica.


Restorative case – full mouth

Michael Heffernan with Steve Law

Highly commended: Rory McEnhill with Lynn Podowski.


Patient choice – restorative case

Klaudiusz Krolikowski with Tomasz Doliniec

Joint highly commended: Andy Denny with Mike Fuse

Joint highly commended: Tobias Kounsul with Atsuyoshi Kakenuma.


Orthodontic case – removable appliances

Megan Hatfield

Highly commended: Karen Gangotra.


Facial aesthetic case

Anne Marie Sharman.


Orthodontic case – fixed appliances

Megan Hatfield

Highly commended: Andy Denny.


Patient choice – orthodontic case

Fayaz Ladak

Highly commended: Tobias Kounsel.


Orthodontic case – Invisalign

Megan Hatfield

Highly commended: Bilal Bhatti.


Single implant case

Federico Brunner with Petr Mysicka

Highly commended: David Furze with Ashley Byrnes.


Multiple implant case

Marcus Gambroudes with Marc Northover

Highly commended: Rory McEnhill with Lynn Podowski.


Conservative ceramic – shade matching case

Ken Harris with Brent West

Highly commended: Chris Ibbott with Adam Davies.


Conservative ceramic – smile makeover

Amerjote Bansal with Luke Barnett

Highly commended: Adam Thorne with Khristo Ivanov.


Conservative composite case

Mark Hughes

Highly commended: Neil Gerrard.


Interdisciplinary case

Maria McNally and Manu Patel with Maurice Spillance

Highly commended: Ken Harris with Chandra Bellisimo and Brent West.


Denture – partial

Julia Bernardo with Dave Jones.


Dentures – full/overdenture

Michael Heffernan with Genesis Dental Laboratory.



Mark Hughes

Highly commended: Andy Wallace.


Aesthetic dentist of the year

Megan Hatfield.

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar