FGDP(UK) announces its new transition board

FGDP(UK)The Faculty of General Dental Practice UK (FGDP(UK)) has named its transition board to help it become an independent college.

The board includes Professor Nairn Wilson CBE (chair), Kevin Lewis, Duncan Rudkin, Neil Sawbridge and Mick Horton, who combined have experience across a broad range of dentistry, covering everything from working for the GDC to past presidents of the British Dental Association (BDA).

Dr Horton claims the new FGDP(UK) organisation will ‘provide a collegiate home and professional standing for general dental practitioners and all members of the general dental team’.

It is hoped the new board will work with the current FGDP(UK) board, the RCS and the FDS with the aim of testing and completing the changes required to establish the new college.


The FGDP(UK) announced it was looking to become an independent organisation in January 2017.

The faculty was formed 25 years ago by the Royal College of Surgeons of England (RCS) as the professional home for general dental practitioners.

It delivers specialist courses in implant dentistry, minor oral surgery and restorative care.

It has a membership of almost 5,000, and with an international reach, FGDP(UK) also produces clinical guidelines written by dentists, for dentists.



Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Register for webinar
"Company" would like to send you relevant email communications to this webinar, by opting in to receive these emails you are agreeing to be sent email communications by "Company".
You can opt-out at any time.
Add to calendar