Dentistry columnist Kevin Lewis honoured

Dentistry magazine’s lead commentator, Kevin Lewis, attained the rare distinction of being made a BDA Honorary Member last night (Thursday).

It’s a title which recognises long, exceptional and valuable service to the BDA, as well as personal commitment to the operation and welfare of the Association.

A serving dentist for 30 years and author of two textbooks on dental practice management, Kevin lectures all over the world and is an enthusiastic supporter of vocational training – he lectured for the very first VT scheme in the late 1970s.

He is the dental director for Dental Protection and a member of the Council of the Medical Protection Society and joins a distinguished line-up of honorary members which includes HRH the Duke of Edinburgh.

Other leading practitioners from across the dental community were last night honoured for their contribution to their profession at the sixth BDA Honours and Awards Dinner.

The ceremony, which was sponsored by the British Dental Trade Association (BDTA), included the presentation of awards by associations representing a range of dental professions, as well as the BDA’s own honours.

BDA Fellowship, which honours outstanding and distinguished service to the BDA and the dental profession, was awarded to Hew Matheson CBE and Graham Brown.
The John Tomes Medal, which recognises scientific eminence and outstanding service to the dental profession, was awarded to Professors Derrick Wilmot and Nairn Wilson CBE.
David Macaulay and Peter Frost were both awarded BDA Life Membership.

The BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Profession was presented to Lance Hale, Russ Ladwa and Janet Speechley, while the BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association was presented to Menna Lloyd.

Andrew Lockhart-Mirams and Paul Langmaid CBE both had their names added to the BDA Roll of Distinction for outstanding service to UK dentistry.
The 2011 British Association of Dental Nurses Outstanding Contribution to Dental Nursing Award was presented to Fiona Ellwood.

The Orthodontic National Group for Dental Nurses and Therapists’ Outstanding Contribution to Orthodontic Nursing Award was presented to Maureen Dickinson. Gail Marsh’s name was added to the British Association of Dental Therapists’ Roll of Distinction.

Peter Davey received a Fellowship from the Dental Technologists Association and Terry Abbott was awarded the British Dental Trade Association Award.
Alongside the 18 individuals receiving recognition for their service, the ceremony also saw the entire dental team from Osborne Dental in Newcastle picking up the award for 2011 BDA Good Practice Scheme Good Practice of the Year.

The practice was commended by judges for offering ‘an outstanding, patient centred service… with extraordinary leadership’.
BDA President, Janet Clarke MBE, said: ‘We are delighted to host these awards which celebrate excellence across the whole dental family. They are our opportunity to say thank you to all those who contribute their time, expertise and goodwill for the betterment of the dental profession and oral health in the UK. Our congratulations, and those of the BDTA, which has generously supported the occasion, go to all the winners.’

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar