Dental nurses abolish chairman role

BADN members voted to abolish the post of chairman of Council, expanding the role of president to encompass the duties of chairman.
The motion to abolish the post of chairman, which was proposed by a BADN member and supported by several Council members, was debated  at BADN’s well-attended AGM  –  held at Dental Showcase on Saturday 22 October 2011 – and passed by a 96% majority vote.
President Nicola Docherty said: ‘BADN would like to thank past chairman Angie McBain for her sterling work on behalf of the Association.

‘Angie has been a member of Council for more than 10 years, having held the posts of regional co-ordinator, president, chairman, acting finance officer and chair of the now-defunct sedation and education groups, and has represented the Association on several working groups and Committees. We would like to wish her every success in her future endeavours.’
BADN Council
Nicola Docherty                                                        President
Sue Bruckel                                                             Immediate Past President
Joan Hatchard                                                          Finance Officer
Lucy Borthwick                                                        London & South East Regional Coordinator
Amanda Byers                                                         North East Regional Coordinator
Fiona Ellwood                                                          East Midlands Regional Coordinator
Donna Hough                                                          North West Regional Coordinator
Leigh Morrison                                                        Northern Regional Coordinator
Cinzia Pickett                                                          South West Regional Coordinator
Rhiannon Pounds                                                    West Midlands Regional Coordinator
Elaine Simmons                                                      Wales Regional Coordinator/Health & Safety Committee Chairman
Jane Dalgarno                                                          Seconded Member for Education
Sandra Ingham                                                        Seconded Member for Practice Management & Reception
Margaret Martin                                                     Seconded Member for Special Care
Kirsty Purshouse                                                      Seconded Member for Sedation
At the AGM, members also passed a motion prohibiting past Presidents from standing for a second term. A third motion to make greater use of the BADN website for official notices was also passed.

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar