New Year honours – dental roll call

Professor Chris Franklin was awarded an OBE for services to healthcare in the New Year honours list.

He is professor associate at the University of Sheffield’s School of Clinical Dentistry and is member of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine and the Board of Dental Studies.

He is regional postgraduate dental dean for South Yorkshire and the East Midlands and is an honorary consultant pathologist in oral and maxillofacial pathology, at the Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Trust. He was president of the British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology from 2006 to 2009.

He is currently chair of the UK committee of postgraduate dental deans and directors (COPDEND) and is an invited board member of the Faculty of Dental Surgery, Royal College of Surgeons of England.

He is also co-chair, with the chief dental officer Barry Cockcroft, of The Medical Education England Dental Programme Board.

Professor Franklin said: ‘I was delighted and surprised to receive this honour. It is recognition for all the hard work locally and nationally that is done in developing postgraduate dental education and training.’

Also among the New Year honours was Stephen Simmons, recently retired Head of Community Dental Services in North London, who received an MBE for his services to dental healthcare in North London.

Kay Sheldon, commissioner for the Care Quality Commission, was honoured with an OBE for her services to healthcare.

She says: ‘I am very pleased to receive this award. Alongside many others, my work in health and social care has been directed at making sure people who use services have an influential voice in the way care is provided and monitored. I see this award as recognition of the importance of that work.’

Dr Katie Petty-Saphon, director of the Medical Schools Council, Dental Schools Council and Association of UK University Hospitals, was also honoured with an MBE for her services to medicine.

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar