Dental award winners announced

This year’s Premier Symposium, the tenth such event organised by Dental Protection and Schülke, was the setting for the announcement of the winners of the Premier Awards 2010.

This annual risk management competition has a total prize fund of £6,000 and accepts entries from projects which recognise the importance of patient safety. Congratulations go to this year’s winners:
Undergraduate prize
Joint 1st Prize – Sarah McKernon,
Liverpool Dental School
A clinical audit of undergraduate record keeping

Joint 1st prize – Rosemary Cunning, Catherine Renfrew and Rhoda Kirkland,
Glasgow Dental School
Healthcare Improvement Project based in Glasgow Dental Hospital and School Focusing on Hand Hygiene
Postgraduate prize
1st Prize – Geoff Chiu,
Manchester Dental School, 1997
The Surgical Operation Note Database: Improving the Accuracy and Quality of Operation Note-keeping and Facilitating Payment by Results
2nd prize – Linda Sun Liu,
Manchester Dental School, 2008
An audit to assess the quality of radiographs
DCP prize
1st prize – Sarah Holslag, Hygienist
Informed Consent. Have you got it?
2nd prize – Hayley Lawrence, Hygienist
Risk assessment for medical emergencies in dental practice
The entries for this year’s competition were of a very high calibre and Trevor Burke, chair of Dental Protection, who presented the awards took time to encourage dentists and DCPs from all regions of the UK to participate again next year.
Kevin Lewis, dental director of Dental Protection said: ‘The entries for this year’s awards have once again exceeded our expectations, with so many different projects being submitted by a wide variety of dental professionals.

‘The Awards focus on raising the awareness and management of risks within the practice, and we are delighted that so many of this year’s entries were so relevant to many of the hot topics in UK dentistry.”
The awards were presented during the annual Premier Symposium, a risk management event created for all members of the team.

This year saw more than 300 dental professionals battled with the snow to attend the day.

The organisers also wish to thank The Dentistry Show, Henry Schein, Paradigm Design and Smile-on for their sponsorship of the symposium that helped to make the day possible.
If you would like to receive details of next year’s awards, you can register your interest by emailing [email protected]

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar