Leading lights of dental family honoured

Leading members of the dental family were honoured for their contributions to dentistry at a lavish ceremony at London’s Hotel Russell on 24 November.

The fifth British Dental Association (BDA) Honours and Awards Dinner saw the presentation of awards to more than 25 dentists and dental care professionals, including the team from the River Practice Specialist Centre in Truro, Cornwall, which won the 2010 BDA Good Practice Scheme Practice of the Year Award.

The event was supported by the British Dental Trade Association (BDTA).
BDA Fellowship, which honours outstanding and distinguished service to the BDA and the dental profession and is the highest honour the BDA bestows, was awarded to Ross Hobson and Mavis Phipps.

The John Tomes Medal, which is awarded by the BDA in recognition of scientific eminence and outstanding service to the dental profession, was presented to Professors John McCabe and David Wray.
BDA Life Membership was awarded to Alex Matthewson, John Rostron MBE and John Williams CBE.

The BDA Distinguished Member award was given posthumously to Trevor Payne and was collected by his widow, Judy.

It recognises Trevor’s long, exceptional and valuable service to the BDA and acknowledges personal commitment to the operation and welfare of the Association.
The BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association was awarded to Gillian Anderson and Linda Arch, while the BDA Certificate of Merit for Services to the Profession was received by Michael Nelson and Ludo Seath.

Five new names were entered on the BDA Roll of Distinction, those of John Attenborough, Simon Gambold, Richard Hayward, Gillian Weir and Liana Zoitipoulos. The awards to John and Liana were made posthumously.
The 2010 British Association of Dental Nurses Outstanding Contribution to Dental Nursing Award was presented to Angie McBain.

The Orthodontic National Group for Dental Nurses and Therapists’ Outstanding Contribution to Orthodontic Nursing Award was presented to Janet Robins.

Hazel Fraser entered on the British Association of Dental Therapists’ Roll of Distinction, while the British Society of Dental Hygiene and Therapy Distinguished Service, Loyalty and Mentorship Award was presented to Ann Craddock.

Fellowship of the Dental Technologists Association was conferred on Simon Butler and Ian MacLeod, while the British Dental Trade Association Award went to Brian Schottlander.
Peter Ward, chief executive of the BDA, said: ‘We extend our congratulations to the many distinguished individuals and the team from the River practice who have been honoured this year.

‘These awards celebrate the successes of the whole dental team and underline the hard work that individuals and teams carry out to improve knowledge and patient care and further the cause of dentistry. The BDA’s honours and awards dinner, which is supported by our friends at the BDTA, is now in its fifth year and continues to underline the strength of the dental family.’

Become a Dentistry Online member

Become a member
Add to calendar